How do I become ITIL certified?

ITIL is the global standard for managing IT service delivery. ITIL mandates processes and activities for designing, developing, delivering, and supporting IT services. IT services are IT activities that give business value to end-users, clients, and other internal or external stakeholders. IT services include centralized email and websites based on server and network administration.

By adopting ITIL, firms ensure their services are delivered according to consistent, well-defined processes that combine best practices and protocols, resulting in predictable user service.

Enhance your resume? How to get ITIL certified for job hunting.

ITIL courses cost a few hundred dollars, but the appropriate person may leverage that certification into a six-figure corporate post. Based on the cost and average salary of the ITIL 4 Foundations certificate, ITIL training is worth the time and money.

ITIL certification – What does it mean?

Certificates of ITIL show you know service management best practices, using standard IT procedures, vocabulary, and methods. ITIL-certified professionals are in demand because they can transform businesses.

Digital services rely on continual project management that focuses on the service’s objectives while addressing development, delivery, and maintenance challenges. Knowing how to integrate these shifting aspects into your development process is smart IT service management.

ITIL certification: Why?

ITIL is a good IT service management framework. It’s a global IT certification.

ITIL is a high-paying IT certification. ITIL focuses on improving IT services, increasing efficiency, and cutting costs.

ITIL is viewed as a common language or paradigm by many businesses and experts, making its abilities transportable. ITIL teaches IT professionals best practices and solutions for IT service management. ITIL’s methodology improves IT operations wherever a company is in the service management life cycle and reduces costs while improving IT services.

ITIL training and certification benefit IT financial management, continuity management, availability and capacity management, service-level management, and service desks. Thousands of firms, including some top tech corporations, demand this certification.

ITIL certification overview

Axelos acquired ITIL in July 2013. It maintains ITIL and accredits training and exam institutes. Hundreds of ITIL Accredited Training Organizations (ATOs) conduct training. ITIL certification examinations may be administered at the end of a training course or an Examination Institute (EI).

ITIL certification levels include:

  1. Foundation
  2. Practitioner
  3. Intermediate
  4. Expert
  5. Master

ITIL Foundation, through Expert certifications, gets a set amount of credits. ITIL Expert requires 22 credits.

How to become ITIL certified?

The following lines depict the certification scheme’s structure and credits.

Foundation level

It is a first-level certification. It focuses on essential ITIL principles, concepts, definitions, and applications to service management methods.

ITIL Foundation certification is for beginners.

  • Who wants ITIL basics?
  • Who wishes to learn how ITIL can improve IT service management?

The foundation test is a closed book, and anyone interested in IT service management can take it. The foundation level has 40 multiple-choice questions and two credits. Sixty-five percent (26/40) is needed for certification.

Practitioner level

The second stage of ITIL certification is the practitioner level. It bridges the gap between the foundational and intermediate levels of knowledge in this stage (third level in ITIL certification). At the practitioner level, the primary objective is to provide IT professionals with the knowledge and skills necessary to implement ITIL frameworks in their workplaces.

ITIL practitioners offer value to any IT service management improvement endeavor by leveraging best practices from various frameworks, such as DevOps, Agile, and Lean. The practitioner level features 40 questions to answer in 135 minutes, as the foundation level. You will pass this level if your score is at least 70% (28/40). You will receive 3 points for completing this level.

Intermediate level

The flexible intermediate level structure contains two types.

  • Service lifecycle

It has five exams. Exams encompass service strategy, design, transfer, operation, and improvement.

  • Service capability

It includes planning protection & optimization, release control & validation, operational support & analysis, and service offerings & agreement.

As you can see, each ITIL intermediate module focuses on distinct areas of service management. Take as many intermediate qualifications as you like.

The intermediate level yields 15 or 16 credits (Based on your chosen modules). The intermediate level is only open to those who have passed the ITIL foundation test and an ITIL-approved training course.

Expert level

ITIL expert certification shows how well you grasp ITIL frameworks. People who understand ITIL’s best practices are certified as experts.

ITIL certification has specific prerequisites.

  • The candidate needs an ITIL foundation or bridge certification.
  • Minimum of 17 foundation and intermediate credits required.
  • The MALC module was required to earn 22 credits and ITIL expert certification.

Master level

Axelos, the developers of ITIL frameworks, has no set curriculum or training. Axelos website says, “you must have substantial practical ‘hands-on’ ITIL expertise” you must obtain master ITIL certification. Every ITIL Master candidate must show workplace ITIL implementation projects.

  • Achieved the ITIL Expert credential
  • In a leadership, managerial, or advising capacity in ITSM for at least five years.
  • Keeping track of certifications during their lives

You can take the test if you pass the ITIL Foundation exam and earn at least 15 extra credits from intermediate courses. At least 17 credits are required to sit for this exam. Many IT professionals worldwide utilize this as a stepping stone to ITIL certification.

Certification and credits are given to those who complete each level of certification.

The final paragraphs

ITIL certifications can assist you in securing a job or propelling your professional trajectory forward. Certification in ITIL and its position as a globally accepted framework means that ITIL practitioners with the requisite IT experience are highly demanded.

The final responsibility for maximizing the value of one’s information technology credentials lies with the individual, who must do so by acquiring the necessary knowledge and expertise. Suppose you can not effectively manage IT service management (ITSM) in a real-world enterprise IT environment. In that case, an ITIL certificate is nothing more than a piece of paper. If you’re interested in utilizing the Simplilearn online learning platform to enroll in one of their classes, don’t put it off any longer.

About the Author

You may also like these